Narmada Expressway Route Map, Cost, Progress, and Latest Updates

The Government of India has undertaken many important expressway projects, including the Delhi–Mumbai Expressway, the Ganga Expressway, and the Goa Nagpur Expressway. The Narmada Expressway is another of these ambitious expressway projects.

Today in this blog we will give you complete information about Narmada Expressway, which includes important facts, distance, and route map.

About Narmada Expressway

  • Length: 1300 km (906 km in Madhya Pradesh)
  • Cost: Rs. 31,000 crore
  • Lanes: 8
  • Starting Point: Amarkantak
  • Ending Point: Alirajpur
  • Completion Year: 2028/29 (expected) 

The Narmada Expressway is a proposed Expressway that will connect Amarkantak in the east and Alirajpur in the west of state in Madhya Pradesh. The Narmada Expressway will be 906 km long. The Expressway named Narmada Pragati Path will pass through 13 districts of the state. Later it will be extended 150 km to Bharuch or Ahmedabad in Gujarat.

The estimated construction cost of the Narmada Expressway project is Rs 31,000 crore. This expressway will have eight lanes and will connect Chhattisgarh and Gujarat through Madhya Pradesh. The plan is that this expressway will also be connected to the Delhi-Mumbai Expressway, which is the largest in the country.

Narmada Expressway will run from Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh to Delhi Mumbai Expressway. These metropolitan corridors will provide high-speed connectivity to eleven districts of MP including Anuppur.

Narmada Expressway Route

Narmada Expressway Route

The Narmada Expressway will start from Kabir Chabutra (Amarkantak) and extend from Dindori to Jabalpur, Obedullaganj, Budhni, Nasrullaganj, Sandalpur, Karnavad, Indore, Dhar, Sardarpur and Jhabua (Madhya Pradesh/Gujarat border). It has a total length of approximately 906 km. 

  • Kabir Chabutra to Dindori – 76 km – 2 lanes
  • Dindori to Jabalpur – 155 km – 2 lanes
  • Jabalpur bypass Greenfield – 18 km – 4 lanes
  • Jabalpur to Obedullaganj – 269 km – 4 lanes
  • Obedullaganj to Budhni – 32 km – 4 lanes
  • Budni-Rehti- Nasrullaganj – 53 km – 4 lanes
  • Nasrullaganj to Sandalpur – 35 km – 4 lanes

Major areas of Narmada Pragati Path as National Highway will also include:

  • Shahdol to Sagar Tola (27 km before Amarkantak) – 67 km – 2 lanes
  • Rewa to Jabalpur – 212 km – 4 lanes
  • Bhopal to Obedullaganj – 30 km – 4 lanes
  • Harda to Sandalpur – 29 km – 4 lanes
  • Hoshangabad to Budni – 6 km – 4 lanes
  • Khandwa to Indore – 125 km – 4 lanes
  • Khargone to Khalghat (Indore) – 52 km – 2 lanes
  • Barwani to Thikri (Indore) – 53 km – 2 lanes
  • Dewas to Indore – 25 km – 6 lanes
  • Harsud to Harda – 45 km – 4 lanes
  • Ratlam to Lebad (Indore) – 90 km – 4 lanes
  • Ujjain to Indore – 45 km – 4 lanes

Districts covered by Narmada Expressway

  • Anuppur
  • Mandla
  • Harda
  • Dindori
  • Jabalpur
  • Hoshangabad
  • Narsinghpur
  • Khandwa
  • Barwani
  • Harda
  • Khargone
  • Alirajpur

Narmada Expressway Progress

The Narmada Expressway project was proposed in 2020 and was delayed to 2021 after the Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister asked officials to make a plan for the land acquisition process. As per the plan made in February 2022, the state cabinet approved the construction of the 906 km long expressway.

A complete Project Report (DPR) is being prepared. Despite the Narmada Expressway scheme, land acquisition has not started yet. Contracts and tenders have not been announced till now.

Narmada Expressway Benefits

  1. The tourism sector of MP will improve. Everyone wants to visit Gangotri and Yamunotri, but very few people go to see Amarkantak, the origin of the Narmada River. After the construction of the Narmada Expressway, there will be more people visiting here.
  2. Madhya Pradesh is also called Tiger State. In such a situation, forest tourists will also find it easier to visit Bandhavgarh, Kanha, and Panna Zoological Park. With this, the tourism sector in Omkareshwar Bhedaghat will increase.
  3. The government will also create an industrial cluster along the expressway, where local people will get work.
  4. Apart from the cluster, one of the 35 multi-modal logistics parks will be built under the Bharatmala project. Besides, there are also plans to create business hubs at around six locations. The focus of this project is also on creating small townships around the cities.
  5. Besides that, a world-class side hub Unity Center will also be built on this expressway, through which the people traveling on the expressway will get many facilities like food, drinks, and medical treatment. This express will also give new wings of development to the border areas of Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, and Gujarat.
  6. World-class production can happen here, but distance from the port hinders MP. But through this expressway, eleven districts of Madhya Pradesh will be connected to the port of Gujarat, which will reduce the logistics cost, and businessmen living in backward districts like Dindori, Mandla, Khandwa, Khargone, Barwani will be able to sell their goods in the global market.
  7. After excellent connectivity, many companies will set up their plants in industrial clusters, which will increase the graph of economic growth. Overall, these expressways will rejuvenate the tourism industrial estate sector.


Like the Narmada River, the Narmada Expressway to be built in Madhya Pradesh will become the lifeline of the people. This Expressway will pass through Anuppur, Dindori, Mandla, Jabalpur, Narsinghpur, Hoshangabad, Harda, Khandwa, Khargone, and Barwani areas. Ten districts will benefit from this expressway, and employment opportunities in this area will also increase. An industrial area will be built around this expressway. Apart from the cluster, 35 multi-modal logistics parks will be built here under the Bharatmala project of the Government of India.

Leave a Comment