Samruddhi Mahamarg: Mumbai Nagpur Expressway Route Map, Progress and More

The Mumbai Nagpur Expressway is 701 km long and has six lanes. Hindu Hrudaysamrat Balasaheb Thackeray Maharashtra Samruddhi Mahamarg is the official name of Maharashtra Samriddhi Mahamarg Expressway. It crosses ten districts and 390 villages in Maharashtra. This will reduce the travel time between Nagpur and Mumbai. This greenfield project was announced in 2015 and land acquisition began in 2017. In December 2018, Prime Minister Narendra Modi laid the foundation stone of the Mumbai–Nagpur Expressway.

The project seeks to boost economic growth in rural areas of the state. Connectivity will be provided in all areas, providing access to national and global markets. The expressway offers connectivity to Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust (JNPT) in Mumbai and Nagpur-Nagpur Multimodal International Hub Airport (MIHBN). Maharashtra State Road Development Corporation (MSRDC) is continuously trying to make the expressway a success.

Mumbai Nagpur Expressway Overview

  • Length: 701 km
  • Lanes: 6 (expandable to 8)
  • Cost: ₹55,000 crore
  • Starting Point: Amane village, Thane district 
  • Ending Point: Shivmadka village, Nagpur district
  • Completion Time: July 2024

Mumbai Nagpur Expressway also known as Hindu Hridaysamrat Balasaheb Thackeray Maharashtra Samriddhi Mahamarg and Maharashtra Expressway-2 (ME-2), totaling 701 kilometers long and partially open, is 6 lanes wide and can expand to 8 lanes Access Controlled expressways in the state of Maharashtra. It is one of the longest greenfield expressway projects in the country, which will connect the two capital cities of the state, Mumbai, and Nagpur, the third largest and alternative capital city. Maharashtra State Road Development Corporation (MSRDC), the state’s infrastructure arm, has built the project under the engineering, procurement and construction (EPC) model.

The route alignment connects Shivamadka village in Nagpur district to Amane village in Thane district, providing better connectivity to Marathwada and Vidarbha regions. The cost of the project is approximately ₹55,000 crore. Land acquisition cost is also included. The Maharashtra government believes that the expressway will enhance all the economic and social facilities of the state.

Mumbai Nagpur Expressway Route

Mumbai Nagpur Expressway Route

Samriddhi Mahamarg will pass through Nagpur, Wardha, Amravati, Washim, Buldhana, Jalna, Aurangabad, Nashik, Ahmednagar, and Thane. The length of this highway will be 701 kilometers. Inter-connecting highways and feeder roads will be built to connect all important city and tourist destinations, including the Nagpur Mumbai Expressway. Samriddhi Mahamarg will connect an additional 14 districts: Chandrapur, Bhandara, Gondia, Gadchiroli, Yavatmal, Akola, Hingoli, Parbhani, Nanded, Beed, Dhule, Jalgaon, Palghar and Raigarh.

The length of the Mumbai Expressway is 701 km and crosses 10 districts and 392 villages. This includes Nagpur, Wardha, Amravati, Washim, Buldhana, Jalna, Aurangabad, Nashik, Ahmednagar and Thane. Underpasses, overpasses, and high culverts have been built along the way, which connects the three wildlife sanctuaries. Also, the longest tunnel will be built at Kasara Ghat, Igatpuri. The expressway will have 274 minor bridges, six tunnels, 33 major bridges, and 65 flyovers.

Mumbai Nagpur Expressway Progress

Prime Minister Narendra Modi inaugurated the Samruddhi Mahamarg route running between Nagpur and Shirdi at Waffle Toll, Nagpur on 11 December 2022.

MSRDC, the implementing agency, said the nationwide lockdown following the coronavirus pandemic affected the construction of the Mumbai to Nagpur Expressway. Therefore, the completion date of Samriddhi Mahamarg Marg was extended to December 2022, which was earlier than December 2021.

On 26 May 2023, Maharashtra Chief Minister Eknath Shinde and Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis inaugurated Phase-2 of Samruddhi Mahamarg from Shirdi to Bharveer in Igatpuri taluka of Nashik. Phase two will open for traffic from next week.

The third and final phase of the Mumbai Nagpur Expressway will be open to the public by the end of 2023. However, work on this portion is still ongoing and the expressway should be fully operational by July 2024.

Mumbai Nagpur Expressway Features

  1. Maharashtra Samriddhi Mahamarg, also known as the Mumbai Nagpur Expressway, is a marvel of design and engineering. It serves as a runway for airplanes in emergencies, wars, or natural disasters.
  2. This 6-lane, access-controlled super communication expressway with an overall width of 120 meters connects several tourism circuits, including eco, pilgrimage, and heritage tourism.
  3. The expressway’s integrated traffic management system will ensure safety by monitoring vehicle speeding, lane discipline, and breakdowns.
  4. This expressway is worth a visit as it features tunnel lighting, bridge beautification, road lighting improvements, and digital signage.
  5. It will be convenient for passengers as there will be rest areas, food plazas, and electric charging stations for electric vehicles every 40-50 km.
  6. The Samruddhi Mahamarg is designed to be energy-efficient, with electric car charging stations and solar plants generating 250 MW of energy.
  7. It has 65 flyovers/viaducts, 24 interchanges, 6 tunnels, over 400 vehicles, and 300 pedestrian and cattle underpasses at strategic locations.


Mumbai Nagpur Expressway is 701 km-6 lanes. The route passes through Nagpur, Wardha, Amravati, Washim, Buldhana, Jalna, Aurangabad, Nashik, Ahmednagar and Thane. Projects in rural areas will generate employment and boost the economy. Also, since it is a green corridor project, 12.68 lakh trees will be planted along the expressway. It is believed that the expressway will be fully operational by December 2023.

Leave a Comment