Delhi Meerut Expressway Route Map, Toll Rates, Connectivity and More

The Delhi Meerut Expressway has enhanced connectivity to the already-developed areas of Delhi, Noida, Ghaziabad, and Hapur. It has also reduced the time to reach cities in western Uttar Pradesh such as Muzaffarnagar, Haridwar, and Moradabad.

Phase 2 and 4 of the Delhi Meerut Expressway are open to the public from 1 April 2021. It is expected to reduce the travel time from Delhi to Meerut by 45 minutes. Earlier, it used to take two hours to reach Meerut from Delhi via the Delhi Meerut highway.

Delhi Meerut Expressway Quick Facts

  • Length: 96 km
  • Lanes: 14
  • Cost: ₹8000-10000 crore
  • Starting Point: New Delhi
  • Ending Point: Meerut
  • Completion Time: 1 April 2021

About Delhi Meerut Expressway

The Delhi Meerut Expressway, also known as National Expressway 3, is India’s widest highway, 96 km long, and connects Delhi to Meerut via Dasna from Ghaziabad. The earlier 8-lane stretch of National Highway 9 (NH-9) has been widened up to Dasna, making it India’s widest expressway.

In the fourth phase, a six-lane expressway connecting to the Meerut bypass has been built from Dasna to Meerut.  The total cost of the project is estimated to be Rs 8,000–10,000 crore. An additional 14 km of package 5 from Zainuddinpur to Zahidpur is currently under construction.

The Delhi Meerut Expressway was built by the National Highways Authority of India (NHAI). New “Hybrid Annuity Model” The National Highways Authority of India (NHAI) provided 40 percent of the funding. With a mix of debt and equity, the concessionaire arranged the remaining 60 percent.

Delhi Meerut Expressway Route Map

Delhi Meerut Expressway Route Map

Phase one is 14 km long, starting from Akshardham to UP Gate. Phase 2 connects UP Gate and Dasna at a distance of 19 km. Phase 3 is from Dasna to Hapur at 22 km. Phase 4 is the longest part and is 32 km long. It connects Meerut and Dasna.

Delhi Meerut Expressway Phase 1 (Nizamuddin Bridge to Delhi-UP Border)

The first phase of the Delhi-Meerut Expressway is 8.7 km long, with 14 lanes, four flyovers, and three vehicle underpasses, covering several areas of Delhi. These include Ganesh Nagar, Pandav Nagar, Vinod Nagar, Mandawali, Ghazipur, Khichdipur, and Kaushambi in Ghaziabad. There are independent houses, development authority flats, cooperative housing societies, builder flats, and high-rise buildings here.

Delhi Meerut Expressway Phase 2 (Delhi-UP Border to Dasna)

The second phase of the Delhi-Meerut Expressway starts from UP Gate. It further connects to Dasna and serves as the border of Ghaziabad and Noida. The major localities in this section are Indirapuram, Vaishali, Khoda, Noida Sector 62, 63, Chhijarsi, Rahul Vihar, Siddharth Vihar, Dundahera Cluster, Pratap Vihar, Vijay Nagar, Crossings Republik and Lal Kuan-Chhapraula. There are many premium high-rises and independent houses in Indirapuram, Vaishali, and Crossings Republik.

Delhi Meerut Expressway Phase 3 (Dasna to Hapur)

The third phase of the Delhi-Meerut Expressway connects Dasna to Hapur. The major towns here are Dasna, Mussoorie, Jindal Nagar, Galand, Pilkhua, Achheja and Anand Vihar.

This part has several higher education and professional institutes. Most of the housing options available here are unapproved plot layouts.

Delhi Meerut Expressway Phase 4 (Dasna to Meerut)

The 46-km long Phase 4 is six-lane and is a new greenfield alignment. The alignment stretches from Dasna in Ghaziabad to Meerut Bypass in Partapur. The project earlier also included a 45-km (Ghaziabad to Meerut) portion of NH-58. However, due to the Rapid Rail Transit System (RRTS) decision to use the dividers on NH-58 for an elevated corridor for trains, the highway was not used and a new alignment was built.

GRC Infraprojects was awarded the tender for the above alignment, with a contract value of Rs 1,087.07 crore. The portion was completed and opened to the public on April 1, 2021.

Delhi Meerut Expressway Timeline 

  • December 2015: Prime Minister Narendra Modi laid the foundation stone for the expressway
  • March 2017: Work on Phase 3 of the Dasna to Hapur section started
  • Nov 2017: Work on Phase 2 of the Delhi-UP Border to Dasna section started
  • May 2018: Phase 1 Nizamuddin Bridge to Delhi-UP Border section inaugurated by PM Modi
  • Sep 2019: Phase 3, Dasna to Hapur section opened for traffic, inaugurated by Nitin Gadkari
  • April 2021: Delhi-UP Border to Dasna & Dasna to Meerut sections opened for public

Delhi Meerut Expressway Specifications:

  1. The 96 km long Delhi Meerut Expressway has 4 sections/phases.
  2. The first 27.74 km is of 14 lanes wide, while the rest will be a 6-lane wide expressway.
  3. It has 24 small and big bridges, 10 flyovers, three railway bridges, 35 underpasses, and 15 pedestrian walkways.
  4. More than 4500 street lights have been installed here.
  5. CCTV cameras have also been installed on the expressway for security checks. A total of 82 km long route has been completed under this project.
  6. With the construction of the expressway, 31 traffic signals on the Delhi-Meerut route will be eliminated and it will become a signal-free route.

Delhi Meerut Expressway Toll Rates (New)

NHAI has announced a 5% hike in toll charges on the Delhi Meerut Expressway. After the fee change, small four-wheelers and light vehicles will incur a new cost of Rs 45 to Rs 160. Heavy vehicles will have to pay Rs 40 to Rs 250 depending on the distance.


The Delhi Meerut Expressway has enhanced connectivity to already developed areas of Delhi, Noida, Ghaziabad, and Hapur. New Development projects are expected to come up at the expressway exits at Didwari and Bhojpur.

Leave a Comment