Bundelkhand Expressway Route Map, Toll Charges, Connectivity and Latest Updates

Bundelkhand Expressway is 296 km long and a Four-lane expressway in India’s largest state. Prime Minister Narendra Modi laid its foundation stone in Chitrakoot district in February 2020. Additionally, in 2018, Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath named the Bundelkhand Expressway as Atal Path, in memory of our former Prime Minister late Atal Bihari Vajpayee. 

Bundelkhand Expressway Overview

  • Length: 296.07 km
  • Lanes: 4
  • Right of Way: 110 meters
  • Cost: ₹14,716 crores
  • Starting Point: Kudrail village, Etawah district 
  • Ending Point: Gonda village, Chitrakoot district
  • Completion Date: 16 July 2022

The Bundelkhand Expressway is in the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh and is 296 km (184 mi) long. It is four lanes wide and can be expanded to six. It connects Kudrail village on the Agra-Lucknow Expressway in Etawah district to Gonda village on NH-35 in Chitrakoot district. On 29 February 2020, Prime Minister Narendra Modi laid the foundation stone of the Bundelkhand Expressway in Gonda, Chitrakoot. It was inaugurated on 16 July 2022. Tourism in Chitrakoot Dham will increase with the expressway.

The Bundelkhand Expressway is a four-lane controlled-access Expressway connecting the state’s backward areas to the national capital. It will pass through the Chitrakoot, Banda, Hamirpur, and Jalaun districts of Uttar Pradesh. The Agra-Lucknow Expressway and Yamuna Expressway will also connect Delhi to the Bundelkhand region.

Bundelkhand Expressway Route

Bundelkhand Expressway Route

Kudrail village on the Agra-Lucknow Expressway in Etawah district will be connected to Gonda village on NH-35 in Chitrakoot district through the Bundelkhand Expressway. It will pass through seven districts of Uttar Pradesh: Etawah, Auraiya, Jalaun, Hamirpur, Mahoba, Banda, and Chitrakoot.

Further, the Expressway will connect Delhi NCR to the Agra-Lucknow Expressway and Yamuna Expressway. It is also connected to the Delhi-Meerut Expressway. Now the journey from Delhi NCR to Chitrakoot will be from 14 hours to 8 hours.

Bundelkhand Expressway Construction

The construction work of the 296 km (184 mi) long Bundelkhand Expressway was divided into six packages and awarded to four different contractors. Four Railway Over Bridges (ROB), 14 major bridges, 268 minor bridges, 18 flyovers, six toll plazas, seven ramp plazas, and 214 underpasses will be built on this expressway. Its construction cost, excluding land cost, is approximately ₹7,766 crore.

Bundelkhand Expressway Toll Tax

Commuters must pay six toll taxes at Etawah, Auraiya, Jalaun, Hamirpur, Mahoba, Banda, and Chitrakoot.

With the implementation of a toll tax on Bundelkhand Expressway, UPEIDA will get revenue, which will be spent on the repair and maintenance of the Expressway.

  • Rs 620 Toll tax will be imposed on light motor vehicles, Like cars, jeeps, and vans.
  • Light goods vehicles, mini busses, and commercial vehicles will have to pay a toll of Rs 990.
  • Rs 1995 Toll tax will be levied on trucks and buses.
  • HCM, EME, or MAAV will have to pay a toll of Rs 3040.
  • Rs 3895 Toll tax will be imposed on large vehicles with seven wheels.

Bundelkhand Expressway Solar Project

The Uttar Pradesh government has acquired 1700 hectares of land to set up a solar power plant on the Bundelkhand Expressway. Its blueprint is being prepared by UP Expressway Industrial Development Authority (UPEIDA). The bidding process to build the first solar expressway will start soon. The following are the features of Solar Energy Bundelkhand Expressway:

550 MW solar power projects will be constructed.

The solar power project will be developed under the public-private partnership model.

The expressway will receive power from solar plants.

It will also provide energy to 1,00,000 homes in the vicinity.

The project will run for 25 years, and payback will be due in 10 to 12 years.

Tusco, Torrent Power, Somaya Solar Solutions, 3R Management, Avada Energy, Atria Brindavan Power, Arisha E Mobility, and Mahapreet are among the potential bidders.

E-mobility will serve as the foundation of socioeconomic development in that region

The UP government plans to build other solar-powered expressways (Purvanchal Expressway, Agra-Lucknow Expressway, and Gorakhpur Link Expressway).


Bundelkhand Expressway provides huge investment options and revives the economic and social condition of developed districts like Chitrakoot, Etawah, Hamirpur, Jalaun, etc. It also reduces travel time by 14 hours, which is a good opportunity for the real estate sector and commuters. The distance from Delhi to Chitrakoot ranges from one hour to eight hours. Connects Delhi NCR with Agra-Lucknow Expressway and Yamuna Expressway.

Leave a Comment