Agra Lucknow Expressway Route Map, Toll Charges, and More

The Agra Lucknow Expressway is a six-lane expressway inaugurated on 21 November 2016. It was created to promote overall development, such as faster travel, reducing vehicular carbon emissions, and helping local farmers sell their products in big cities.

The Agra Lucknow Expressway is a Greenfield Corridor, that crosses four national and two state highways and passes through the country’s major rivers: Kalyani, Sai, Isan, Ganga, and Yamuna. It is a 302 km long, six-lane, high-speed access-controlled expressway. Continue reading to know more about Agra Lucknow expressway.

Agra Lucknow Expressway Overview

  • Length: 302.22 km
  • Lanes: 6 (extendable to 8-lanes)
  • Cost: ₹13,200 crore
  • Starting Point: Hingot Kheria village, Agra district
  • Ending Point: Sarosa Bharosa village, Lucknow district
  • Completion Date: 21 November 2016

About Agra Lucknow Expressway

The Agra Lucknow Expressway is 6-lane access-controlled, but it can be expanded to 8 lanes. The route starts from the Inner Ring Road of Agra. It passes through Firozabad, Mainpuri, Etawah, Auraiya, Kannauj, Kanpur Nagar, Hardoi, and Unnao districts and ends in Lucknow on SH-40.

The Greenfield Corridor has reduced the Lucknow-Agra distance from six hours to three and a half hours. Additionally, connectivity with the Yamuna Expressway, which is 165 kilometers long, allows you to travel faster to the national capital Delhi. Apart from easily connecting the two megacities, the expressway will also attract investors to set up industrial plants, thereby making the economy and development of the state competitive.

Uttar Pradesh Expressway Industrial Development Authority (UPEIDA) has done an important job by completing the Agra-Lucknow Expressway in 23 months. The UP government appointed different contractors for different stretches of the expressway to complete this work. The initial estimated cost of construction was Rs 15 thousand crores. However, the Uttar Pradesh government claimed its value was Rs 13,200 crore.

Six fighter aircraft of the Indian Air Force, Sukhoi Su-30MKI, and Dassault Mirage 2000 were the major attractions at the inauguration of this stunning hi-tech expressway. UPEIDA also informed that a 3 km stretch has been built on the expressway for war time conditions.

In addition, UPEIDA acquired 3,127 hectares of land peacefully. Additional land required for the project was purchased through acquisition processes. UPEIDA paid four times the circle rate (CR) in rural areas and double in urban areas.

The Agra-Lucknow Expressway is known for development centers, agricultural markets, educational institutions, industrial schools, rest stops, fuel stations, service stations, and other public facilities.

Agra Lucknow Expressway Route

Agra Lucknow Expressway Route Map

The Agra Lucknow Expressway starts from Etmadpur Madra, near Agra, and passes through 10 districts and 236 villages, and ends at Sarosa Bharosa village on Mohan Road in Lucknow. This expressway will connect the major districts of Agra with Lucknow, Firozabad, Mainpuri, Etawah, Auraiya, Kannauj, Kanpur, Unnao, Hardoi, and Lucknow. Moreover, this expressway connects Yamuna expressway to Agra Ring Road creating a direct route from Greater Noida, National Capital Region to Lucknow.

This expressway connects the Agra Ring Road to the Yamuna expressway, which connects Greater Noida, NCR, from Agra to Lucknow. It connects Agra and Lucknow via Shikohabad, Firozabad, Mainpuri, Etawah, Auraiya, Kanpur, Kannauj, Bangarmau, and Lucknow. The expressway will start from Etmadpur Madra village near Agra and end at Sarosa Bharosa village on Mohan Road in Lucknow.

Agra Lucknow Expressway Toll Charges

Type of vehicleToll tax (in Rs)
Light motor vehicles (LMV)665
Light commercial vehicles1,035
Trucks and busses2,075
Construction machinery3,170
Large vehicles4,070

Agra Lucknow Expressway Specifications

  • Six-lane carriage way with expansion to 8 lanes.
  • Roadside facilities, on four different levels with large parking areas
  • Twenty vehicles and 200 security personnel are deployed on the expressway for round-the-clock patrolling and assistance to commuters.
  • The police department has deployed 19 PRV vehicles with “Dial-112” facilities for additional patrolling.
  • Service ways have been built on the entire expressway, except on major bridges and railway overbridges.
  • Development of Mandi at two locations in Kannauj and Mainpuri with expressway access.
  • Ten ambulances are deployed on the expressway approximately every 30 km, providing immediate medical assistance in accidents or emergencies
  • Ten recovery cranes or hydra are available if required.
  • Ten mobile workshops have been set up to repair damaged or punctured cars on a payment basis. Users can avail this service by calling the UPEIDA helpline number.
  • There is Fastag at all toll booths on the Agra-Lucknow Expressway.
  • The high-speed corridor has four rail overbridges, 13 major bridges, 148 pedestrian underpasses, 74 vehicle underpasses, and 57 minor bridges.
  • Trees are being planted on both sides of the expressway and saplings are being planted in the middle for rainwater harvesting.
  • Use of green energy (solar) on the entire expressway.
  • Advanced traffic management systems have been installed, which include PTZ surveillance cameras, a speed detection system (ANPR), an electronic call box (ECB), and an incident detection system.

Expressway Mitra App

Expressway Mitra App, a free app for commuters, is designed for Android and Apple users. The app provides users with voice or text notifications for excessive speeding, identification of nearby features and route maps, accident, and traffic congestion reporting, GIS-based route guidance, and toll fee estimation for planned trips.


The Agra Lucknow Expressway, which is 302 kilometers long, apart from providing easy access to the national capital, Lucknow, Agra, and other nearby cities, will increase the fast connectivity in these areas. 

Leave a Comment