Agra Metro Route Map, Station List, and Latest Updates

Agra Metro is a rapid transit system built in Agra in Uttar Pradesh, India to increase tourism in this historical city. Here residents and tourists easily get transportation to and from tourist attractions like the Taj Mahal, Agra Fort, and Sikandra.

Agra Metro Overview

  • Length: 29.65 km (5.2 km operational)
  • Stations: 29 (6 operational)
  • Lines: 2 (Yellow Line, Blue Line)
  • Track gauge: 1,435 mm (4 ft 8+1⁄2 in) standard gauge
  • Speed: 90 km/h (Average speed: 34.0 km/h)
  • Type: Elevated & Underground
  • Cost: ₹8379.62 crore (Line 1), ₹4520.38 crore ( Line 2)
  • Completion Time: March 2024

About Agra Metro

The Agra Metro project is One of the metro networks built in Uttar Pradesh. Agra Metro is a rapid transit system, 29.65 km long with two metro corridors, and 29 metro stations. The detailed project report of the Agra Metro project was submitted to the Uttar Pradesh state government in June 2014. 

The central government approved it in February 2019, however. The approval was delayed due to the formation of a new government and the improved metro. Construction of the Agra Metro project has already begun, and the first corridor consisting of six metro stations and a 5.2 km stretch opened on 6 March 2024.

Agra Metro Route

The Agra Metro project will have two corridors passing through the city center and connecting popular tourist destinations like the Taj Mahal, Agra Fort, and Sikandra. It will also connect ISBT, Medical College, Agra Cantonment Railway Station, Sanjay Place, Collectorate, and surrounding residential areas.

Line 1 will have a total length of 14.25 km and will have 14 stations from Sikandra to Taj East Gate. The elevated portion will be 6.569 km and the underground portion will be 7.681 km.

Line 2 will be 15.4 km long between Agra Cantt and Kalindi Vihar, and all stations will be elevated. There will be 15 stations on Line 2.

Agra Metro Map

Agra Metro Route map

Agra Metro Station List

  • Agra Metro Yellow Line Stations

Yellow Line (Line 1) from Sikandra to Taj East Gate: 14 Stations

  1. Sikandra
  2. Guru ka Taal
  3. ISBT
  4. Shastri Nagar
  5. RBS College
  6. Raja Ki Mandi
  7. Agra College (Interchange)
  8. Medical College
  9. Mankameshwar Mandir
  10. Agra Fort
  11. Taj Mahal
  12. Fatehabad Road
  13. Basai
  14. Taj East Gate
  • Agra Metro Blue Line Stations

Blue Line (Line 2) from Agra Cantt to Kalindi Vihar: 16 Stations

  1. Agra Cantt
  2. Sultanpura
  3. Sadar Bazar
  4. Pratap Pura
  5. Collectorate
  6. Subhash Park
  7. Agra College (Interchange)
  8. Hariparwat Chauraha
  9. Sanjay Place
  10. MG Road
  11. Sultanganj Crossing
  12. Kamla Nagar
  13. Rambagh
  14. Foundry nagar
  15. Agra Mandi
  16. Kalindi Vihar

Agra Metro Latest Updates

Agra Metro is currently under construction. In 2015 the state government approved its Detailed project report, which was submitted in 2014. However, with the coming of the new government, the feasibility report was revised, which was approved by the Center in 2019. Civil work on this project started in December 2020. The two metro lines are expected to be operational by 2024, making it a single-phase project.

Agra Metro priority section was inaugurated by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 6th March 2024. The inauguration marks the completion of the first phase of the Agra Metro Priority Corridor. Phase 1 was finished in 29 months.

Taj East Gate, Basai Metro Station, Taj Mahal, Agra Fort, Fatehabad Road Metro Station, and Jama Masjid are all in the priority corridor section. The first three stations will be elevated and the remaining three will be underground.

Agra Metro Specifications

  1. Five trains with three coaches will run on the primary corridor.
  2. Each coach will have a seating capacity of 60 people and 200 standing capacity.
  3. Each train has a capacity of approximately 650 to 700 passengers.
  4. Rail service will be available from 6 am to 10 pm, and trains will run at speeds of up to 90 mph.
  5. With advanced technology and seamless design, the metro trains have a distinct yellow colour.
  6. The distance from Sikander to Taj East Gate corridor will be 14.25 km, which will have 14 stations.
  7. The second corridor will be 15.4 km long from Agra Cantt to Kalindi Vihar and will have 15 elevated stations.
  8. Metro trains in Agra will get energy from the third (power) rail, which will make their operation more energetic.
  9. The metro rail will also have automatic climate control equipment.


We hope this post helps you know more about the Agra Metro route, cost, fare, ticket system, etc. The Agra Metro route will pass through the Taj city center, connecting famous tourist destinations. Providing easy access to popular terminals like Sikandra, Agra Cantt, Taj Mahal and Agra Fort, Raja Ki Mandi Railway Station, ISBT and Railway Station will help in enhancing the transportation system across the city. More than this there are many other ongoing and upcoming Mega Projects in Uttar Pradesh that you should aware of it.

Leave a Comment