KMP Expressway- Western Peripheral Expressway Route Map, Toll Charges and More

KMP Expressway (Kundli-Manesar-Palwal Expressway) is an engineering marvel of India. The Western Peripheral Expressway, which passes through Sonipat, Kharkhoda, Bahadurgarh, Badli, Jhajjar, Manesar, Nuh, Sohna, Hathin, and Palwal, is 135.6 km long. Prime Minister Narendra Modi inaugurated the expressway in November 2018. Since then the real estate sector in Haryana and New Delhi has grown.

This article details the Western Peripheral Expressway. Here is the KMP Expressway route map and distance.

KMP Expressway Full Form

Kundli–Manesar–Palwal Expressway is the full name of the KMP Expressway.The Western Peripheral Expressway, as it has another name, helps move traffic to and from Delhi. It is outside Delhi and passes through Haryana. Eastern Peripheral Expressway and Western Peripheral Expressway are the largest ring roads of Delhi.

KMP Expressway Overview

  • Length: 135.6 km
  • Lanes: 6
  • Cost: ₹9,000 crore
  • Starting Point: Kundli, Sonipat
  • Ending Point: Dholagarh, Palwal
  • Completion Date: 19 November 2018

About KMP Expressway

The Kundli–Manesar–Palwal Expressway (KMP Expressway) or Western Peripheral Expressway (WPE) is 135.6 km (84.3 mi) long and carries 6 lanes in each direction. The construction of the Eastern Peripheral Expressway will help in improving the air quality of Delhi as it will take out more than 50,000 heavy vehicles from Delhi. 

The Eastern Peripheral Expressway and the Western Peripheral Expressway together form the largest ring road around Delhi. Kundli, Kharkhoda, Bahadurgarh, Badli, Fartukhnagar, Panchgaon, Manesar, Taoru, Sohna, and Palwal are the ten gates from north to south.

There are many public facilities to make traveling convenient and easy for people. There is a bus stand, traffic police station, truck service station, food court, and toilets. There is also a helipad and medical trauma center on the KTM Expressway. After every 20 km an ambulance, police patrol vehicles, and cranes are available to deal with emergencies.

KMP Expressway Route

KMP Expressway Route Map

KMP Expressway starts from North End at Kundli, Sonipat and ends South End at Dholagarh, Palwal. 

There are ten tolled entry and exit points. There are 52 underpasses and 23 overpasses:

4 railway overbridges; 10 overpasses and underpasses at crossings on National Highways and State Highways; 7 overpasses, 9 underpasses, and 27 underpasses at crossings on major district roads and rural roads; 33 agricultural vehicle underpasses; 31 cattle crossing routes; and 61 pedestrian crossing routes.

DND-Faridabad-KMP Expressway (59 km) operational by December 2023. Once the expressway opens, the crowd in Ashram-Faridabad will reduce considerably. This bridge will connect the Ring Road and DND flyover with the KMP Expressway near Sohna.

KMP Expressway Speed Limit

There are speed limits for light motor vehicles (LMV) and heavy motor vehicles (HMV) on the KMP Expressway. The speed of LMV is 120 km/h, while that of HMV is 100 km/h. This limit has been set by the Government of India; 

However, the state government has set a speed limit of 80 km/h for LMVs and 60 km/h for HMVs, at a distance of 83 km from Manesar to Kundli. The Haryana government took this decision because of the increase in the number of road accidents on this particular stretch.

KMP Expressway Cost

The construction cost of KMP Expressway is Rs 9000 crore. Of the Rs 9000 crore, Rs 2998 crore was spent on acquisition from land owners, while the remaining Rs 6400 crore was spent on construction and development of the highway.

KMP Expressway Toll Charges

Vehicle typeKMP Expressway toll rates (per km)
Light motor vehiclesRs 1.61
Light commercial vehicles and mini busRs 2.60
Two-axle vehiclesRs 5.45
Three-axle vehiclesRs 5.95
four to six-axle vehiclesRs 8.56
seven-axle and aboveRs 10.42

KMP Expressway Specifications

  • The introduction of the KMP Expressway has reduced the number of vehicles from Delhi by about 50,000. Now one has to go to Delhi to go from North India to South India.
  • Lanes were later increased in the expressway; The road was to be four lanes.
  • Palwal, Mewat, Jhajjar, Sonipat, and Gurugram are included in the Western Peripheral Expressway.
  • It took 16 years for KMP Expressway to start. The expressway was constructed in 2003 and inaugurated in 2018. There was a delay due to various reasons.
  • Khas grass has been planted on the banks to prevent landslides. Grass purifies the environment by absorbing carbon dioxide.
  • Arjun, Neem, and Shisham trees have been planted in the entire area. The fountain also has cultural and historical remains. There are ambulances, police stations, and refilling stations on the expressway to make the journey safe.

KMP Expressway Latest Updates

Union Road Transport and Highways Minister Nitin Gadkari recently posted photos of the upcoming six-lane highway connecting to the KMP Expressway section of NH 148. This highway will further improve the connectivity of Noida and Ghaziabad with North and East Delhi. It will connect to the KMP Highway and connect the Delhi Noida Direct (DND) flyway.

The KMP Expressway has helped reduce traffic since its inauguration, thereby reducing air pollution in Delhi. HSIDC, Haryana State Industrial and Infrastructure Development Corporation, is planning to build five multi-modal transit stations (MMTS) along the KMP Expressway. This will improve the overall economic development of KMP Expressway.


KMP Expressway is 135.6 km-6 lane. En route are Sonipat, Kharkhoda, Bahadurgarh, Badli, Jhajjar, Manesar, Nuh, Sohna, Hathin and Palwal. The Western Peripheral Expressway, as it is also known, has improved the real estate market in these cities. Initially, this highway was made four lanes, but later it was made six lanes. The entire stretch was inaugurated by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on November 19, 2018.

Leave a Comment