Varanasi Kolkata Expressway Route Map, Cost, Progress, and More

Varanasi Kolkata Expressway is also known as Varanasi Ranchi Kolkata Expressway. As the name suggests the Expressway will pass through Ranchi. The Expressway passes through the capital of both Bihar and Jharkhand, hence crossing four states. These four states are Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, and lastly West Bengal. The entire Expressway is a greenfield project.

The project will be approximately 610 kilometers long. The route will have six lanes and can be expanded further. This project is a part of the Bharatmala project of the Government of India. The Bharatmala project aims to boost economic growth and create world-class road infrastructure.

Varanasi Kolkata Expressway Quick Facts

  • Length: 610 km
  • Cost: Rs. 28500 crores
  • Lanes: 6 (Expandable)
  • Starting Point: Barhuli, Uttar Pradesh
  • Ending Point: Uluberia, West Bengal
  • States: Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand and West Bengal
  • Completion Year: 2027

About Varanasi Kolkata Expressway

The Varanasi Kolkata Expressway is a six-lane, greenfield access-controlled Expressway, which will connect the spiritual city of Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh with Kolkata, the capital of West Bengal, and will also pass through Ranchi, the capital of Jharkhand. It will pass through four states Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, and West Bengal, almost parallel to the Grand Trunk Road or Asian Highway 1. The Varanasi Kolkata Expressway will be constructed under the Bharatmala project, and the travel time and distance will be reduced from 12–14 hours to only 6–7 hours and from 690 km (430 mi) to 610 km (380 mi). It will start in Chandauli district of Uttar Pradesh and end at Uluberia in Howrah district of West Bengal.

The current road from Varanasi to Kolkata is approximately 690 km long. It takes approximately 12 to 14 hours to travel between the two cities. On successful completion of the Varanasi-Ranchi-Kolkata Expressway, the travel time will be halved. The time will be reduced by approximately 50 percent. Therefore the new travel time from city to city will be around 6 to 7 hours. Reducing time will save both fuel and time.

Varanasi Kolkata Expressway Route Map

Varanasi Kolkata Expressway Route Map

The Varanasi Kolkata Expressway will cross four major states. Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand and West Bengal will cross it. The new Expressway will run parallel to the old National Highway 2.

  • Road rights of 100 meters will remain intact on the expressway.
  • A tunnel was built in Kaimur district of Bihar. The total length of the tunnel will be five kilometers.
  • The Varanasi-Ranchi-Kolkata Expressway will run about 22 kilometers in Uttar Pradesh.
  • The length of the Expressway in Bihar will be 159 kilometers.
  • In Jharkhand state it will be 187 kilometers
  • The length of the expressway will be approximately 242 km, which will be in the state of West Bengal.

State Districts Covered by Expressway

Uttar Pradesh

  1. Chandauli


  1. Kaimur
  2. Aurangabad
  3. Rohtas
  4. Gaya


  1. Bokaro
  2. Ramgarh
  3. Hazaribagh
  4. Chatra

West Bengal

  1. Purulia
  2. Bankura
  3. Paschim Medinipur
  4. Hooghly
  5. Howrah

Varanasi Kolkata Expressway Update

Passengers will soon be able to reach Kolkata from Varanasi in 7 hours. Land acquisition for the construction of Greenfield Expressway will be completed soon. In the district through which the expressway is passing, land related issues are being resolved quickly. Such questions are resolved in Gram Sabha meetings.

The expressway will pass through 67 villages of Chatra, Simaria, Hunterganj and Pathalgada districts.

“This expressway will start from Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh, enter Bihar, Jharkhand and end in Bengal,” Gram Sabha officials said. In Jharkhand the expressway will pass through Chatra, Hazaribagh, Ramgarh and Bokaro.

Varanasi Kolkata Expressway Key Benefits

Varanasi-Kolkata Expressway will help in the development of many areas. This will also lead to economic growth of the area. Once the expressway is operational, it will be beneficial on the following areas:

Reducing traffic: Its impact will be huge. The opening of the expressway will redirect traffic from surrounding areas.

Travel time will be reduced: The construction of Varanasi Kolkata Expressway will reduce the travel time between the two cities. Connectivity between the cities covered by this will also improve.

Freight and trade Activity: West Bengal, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar and Jharkhand use Kolkata and Haldia ports to conduct maritime trade. Successful inauguration of the Expressway will reduce the time of movement of goods. Thus, promoting business growth in the regions.

Economic growth: Better connectivity will improve the supply of goods. Thus, industries will develop along the expressway. Industrial development will provide work. Thus, the cumulative effect of the expressway will develop the local economy.

Development of Localities: Improvement in the economy of the area will increase the movement of people. Improvements in trade and connectivity will also help it further. All of them together will build new areas and houses nearby.


The Varanasi Kolkata Expressway will halve the travel time between the two cities. The expressway is approximately 610 km. The entire road is divided into five parts, each part in several packages. These packages provide construction bids. The government is currently in the process of acquiring land for the project. It has also invited bids to build an expressway from Donoreshan village to NH 20 junction.


1. What is the total length of Varanasi Kolkata Expressway?

The total length of Varanasi Kolkata Expressway is 610 Kilometers. Its starts from Barhuli in uttar pradesh and ends in Uluberia, West Bengal.

2. What is distance between Varanasi to Kolkata?

The current distance from Varanasi to Kolkata is approximately 690 km. But after the completion of Varanasi Kolkata expressway distance will reduce to 610 kms.

3. What will be the construction cost of Varanasi Kolkata Expressway?

The estimate cost of the Varanasi Kolkata Expressway will be Rs.28500 Crore.

Leave a Comment