Pune Bangalore Expressway Route Map, Cost, Progress, and More

The Pune Bangalore Expressway, which will connect Pune and Bengaluru passing through drought-prone Satara and Sangli districts, is 700 km long. The construction of the Pune Bengaluru Expressway is proposed under the Bharatmala project.

The Greenfield Expressway, which will be faster and less congested than the current highway, will replace National Highway 48 (formerly NH 4). The Pune Bangalore Expressway will be an 8-lane, access-controlled expressway capable of supporting speeds of 120 km/h.

Pune Bangalore Expressway Quick Facts

  • Length: 700  km
  • Cost: ₹50,000 crore
  • Lanes: 8
  • Starting Point: Kanjale, Pune Ring Road 
  • Ending Point: Muthagadahalli, Bangalore Satellite Ring road
  • Completion Year: 2028

The Pune Bangalore Expressway is a 700 km long, eight-lane, greenfield access-controlled expressway, located in Maharashtra and Karnataka. The Pune Bangalore Expressway will be developed under the Bharatmala project. The expressway will pass through 12 districts (three in Maharashtra and nine in Karnataka). Pune and Bengaluru are connected to it. 

The distance between the two cities will be reduced by about 95 km via the Pune Bangalore Expressway. After the completion of this expressway, the distance from Bengaluru to Pune will be less than 7 hours from the present 15 hours. This expressway in Pune will also connect to the Mumbai-Pune Expressway. It is reported that the expressway is targeted to be completed by 2028.

This greenfield expressway will be built parallel to National Highway 48 under Bharatmala Project Phase 2. Also, the Greenfield Expressway will be an easy alternative to NH-48.

The proposed expressway will be built at a cost of Rs 50,000 crore under Phase II of the Prime Minister’s flagship Bharatmala project.

Pune Bangalore Expressway Route

The proposed Pune Bangalore Expressway starts from Kanjale. It crosses Pune, Satara, and Sangli from Maharashtra and enters Karnataka.

Belagavi, Bagalkot, Gadag, Koppal, Vijayanagara, Davanagere, Chitradurga, Tumakuru and Bengaluru Rural districts of Karnataka pass through this expressway. Muthagadahalli is the end of the expressway on the proposed Satellite Ring Road in the Bengaluru Metropolitan Area.

Pune Bangalore Expressway Route

Districts covered by the Pune Bangalore Expressway


  1. Pune
  2. Satara
  3. Sangli


  1. Belagavi
  2. Bagalkot
  3. Gadag
  4. Koppal
  5. Vijayanagara
  6. Davanagere
  7. Chitradurga
  8. Tumakuru 
  9. Bengaluru Rural district

Pune Bangalore Expressway Progress

Currently, the Pune Bangalore Expressway project is in the proposal stage and the Detailed Project Report (DPR) is being prepared. The land acquisition work has not started yet. Further information regarding timelines and construction milestones will be provided as the project progresses.

Pune Bangalore Expressway Specifications

The expressway will connect to other road networks at 22 locations. Two emergency airstrips of about five km long will be built in Pune and Bengaluru. 55 flyovers, plantation on both sides of the expressway and a 15-metre median stretch for future widening are also included in the design.

The expressway will have 6 Road Over Bridges (RB) 22 Interchanges 55 Flyovers 14 National and State Highway Crossing Points Plantation on both sides of Expressway.

A 15-metre median and 100-metre right of way (ROW) is also planned for internal widening.

The expressway will cross about ten rivers, giving good time to the passengers. The names of the rivers are Neera, Yerala, Chand River, Agrani, Krishna, Ghataprabha, Malaprabha, Tungabhadra, Chikka Hagar and Vedavati.

Pune Bangalore Expressway Benefits

The distance between Bangalore and Pune will be reduced by 95 kilometers.

This will reduce the journey from Pune to Bangalore to 7 to 8 hours, as opposed to the current 11 to 12 hours travel time.


One of the most awaited expressways in India is Pune Bangalore Expressway. This infrastructural development will not only benefit the residents of both the areas but also the real estate and economic sectors. Also, people living in Bengaluru will get better access to pilgrimage sites like Shirdi and other central cities and towns in Maharashtra.


Leave a Comment